Australian High Commission

  Latest News

Positions Vacant at the Australian High Commission    

Australia Awards Scholarships & Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships (Applications open: Mon 1 Feb - Sat 30 Apr 2016) 

Tuvalu Australia Awards Scholarships & Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships


New Smartraveller campaign launched

Australians are being reminded to make their first stop the Smartraveller website before they travel overseas in a revamped national advertising campaign. The new campaign aims to remind Australians to prepare for their upcoming trip and to take responsibility for themselves when travelling overseas. With Australians continuing to travel in ever-increasing numbers, with almost 10 million trips taken in the last financial year, the Smartraveller message continues to be critically important – ‘be informed, be prepared’. While most Australians travel safely, and take appropriate precautions, the number of Australians seeking consular assistance continues to rise. A large number of these cases could have been prevented with the right preparation, planning and taking out comprehensive travel insurance. (more)

Australian Passport Updates

Please be aware the following will apply from 1 January 2016:

  • 10 year validity passports for 16 and 17 year olds. Both the child and a parent will be required to attend the appointment and the parental consent page must be completed.
  • Passport fees will increase with inflation. Please visit for further information.
  • Lost/stolen fees will be removed. Instead frequent losers of passports will have their passport validity reduced.

Australian Passport Appointment bookings

Passport appointment bookings (available between 08:30am - 12:00pm weekdays, except for Public Holidays) are required for the lodgement of passport applications.  Clients should not attend the High Commission without an appointment.    Appointments can be booked  by calling telephone (679) 3388 236 or emailing   Appointments are also required for notarial services.

Opening hours: The High Commission is open from 8.00am to 4.30pm on weekdays except for public holidays.

Australian High Commissioner to Fiji: Margaret Twomey 

Contact details:

Australian High Commission
37 Princes Road
Fiji Islands.

P.O. Box 214
Suva, Fiji Islands

IDD Code: 679
Telephone: 338 2211
Facsimile: 338 2065

* PUBLIC HOLIDAYS 2016: The Australian High Commission will be closed on the following days:

1 January (Friday) New Year’s Day
26 January (Tuesday) Australia Day
25 March (Friday) Good Friday
28 March (Monday) Easter Monday 
25 April (Monday) Anzac Day 
13 June (Monday) Queen’s Birthday 
24 June (Friday) National Sports Day
7 September (Wednesday) Constitution Day 
10 October (Monday) Fiji Day
31 October (Monday) Diwali
12 December (Monday) Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday 
26 December (Monday) Christmas Day Holiday
27 December (Tuesday) Boxing Day Holiday
28 December (Wednesday) DFAT Holiday